Kurt Vonnegut : Unstuck in Time the documentary.

I am not in the habit of writing reviews. Kurt Vonnegut : Unstuck in Time the documentary is worth breaking that rule.

borrowed liberally and without attribution from https://www.ebay.com/sch/sideshow-art/m.html

I am a total fan of three authors. Hunter S Thompson, PJ ORourke, and Kurt Vonnegut. I came to Vonnegut last. I read his most famous work after exhausting everything else. Kentucky, Ohio and Indiana. As a younger man, I fancied that I might be the famous Indiana writer in that regional mix until I dealt with James Whitcomb Riley, Booth Tarkington, and most devastatingly Kurt Vonnegut.

I turned on Hulu the other day. Kurt Vonnegut : Unstuck in Time was on the list. Yes please…

If you don’t have time to read everything he ever wrote, watch the documentary.

One of the things that gets highlighted is Kurt’s artwork. I encounter this about two years ago. I was looking for a Ralph Steadman (the artist who worked with Hunter S Thompson) thing to hang on the wall and discovered that there exists pieces of paper decorated by Vonnegut. After careful consultation with my art director, Mrs. Jon Bruce Entertainment, we got one of those too.

The biggest surprise of all was that the person entrusted with these works, Joe Petro III (wikipedia). I had encountered Joe’s name at a Steadman exhibition in Lexington, Kentucky at University of Kentucky, then again the the Speed Museum exhibition in Louisville. Joe has collaborated with Ralph Steadman and Kurt Vonnegut. After getting over my jealousy that there is one locus, one person who bridges these artists and has worked, corresponded and met them both, I was delighted at my brief correspondence with Joe.

Some of the prints he as available are for sale at https://www.ebay.com/sch/sideshow-art/m.html

You can also stalk him on Instagram at https://www.instagram.com/joepetroart

Because the internet isn’t permanent. There are lots of dead links pointing to places that are neglected.

borrowed liberally and without attribution from https://www.ebay.com/sch/sideshow-art/m.html

Leave a comment